Thirsty Thursday: Sick Day Drinks

Sick day necessities. Image Credit.

Sick day necessities. Image Credit.

As I mentioned on Monday, I’m sick. I actually can’t remember the last time I was legitimately sick, like, I want to stay in bed all day, don’t want to get out and do anything, sore-throat, achey, no appetite sick, like I am right now. It’s the Polar Vortex. I decided. Anyway, one of the ways I like to deal with illness (and honestly, just life in general) is with potions. Potions?! Yeah, because by “potions”, I more accurately mean “home remedies” and “supplements”. Never underestimate the power of a HOT drink when you have a cold, flu, or sinus infection. It will provide almost instant relief, I swear. In that vein, here are two of the drinks I’m currently concocting in an attempt to chase my cold away.

goop Feel Food NY ‘Cold Buster’

The one upside of being sick: having a husband who will make late-night Whole Foods trips to pick up bee pollen, fresh ginger, and organic cinnamon I've been using to make this drink. Image via Pinterest.

A personal bright spot of being sick: having a husband who will make late-night Whole Foods trips to pick up bee pollen, fresh ginger, and organic cinnamon I’ve been using to make this drink. Image via Pinterest.

Via goop: Combine  juice of half a lemon, 1 teaspoon bee pollen, 1 heaping tablespoon of honey, 1 teaspoon pressed ginger, small pinch cayenne powder, 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon powder into 8 ounces of hot water. Sip & enjoy.

I’ve been drinking this particular potion 2x a day for the last two days and it always makes me feel warm, happy, and (though admittedly shorter-lived than I would like,) MUCH better. It’s also helped me to discover that I’m obsessed with bee pollen–definitely try this one if you’re feeling yucky. It’s delicious!

ACV Shots

Woo! Things are gettin cray cray over here ;) Image via Pinterest.

Woo! Things are gettin cray cray over here 😉 Image via Pinterest.

Via Pinterest: In a shot glass, combine 1 Tbsp Apple Cider Vinegar, 2 Tbsp Water, 1 Tbsp Honey, & a few shakes Cinnamon to taste. Shoot it. Feel the burn!

Warning: If you haven’t already heard, apple cider vinegar is kind of amazing. Not only does this tend to BURN, but if taken frequently, it will absolutely WRECK the enamel on your teeth. I don’t really mind the taste of ACV, but I don’t particularly love it either, so taking a tablespoon-or-two sized gulp of the stuff is an easy way for me to get this down and start feeling better. The burn makes the sore throat disappear! I do this before bed. Of course, if you’d like to sip your apple cider vinegar, PopSugar ‘s sister site FitSugar has a great recipe for an Apple Cider Vinegar Cayenne Pepper Cold & Sinus Remedy.

What are YOUR go-to cold remedies? Have you been sick this winter?

xo,

Liza, Editorial Director

2 thoughts on “Thirsty Thursday: Sick Day Drinks

Leave a Reply

