Life Meets Style: Chic Handbag Storage & Display

Confession: I’m kind of obsessed with handbags, but I am totally terrible at arranging them. I drape my current bag-of-choice over the arm of a chair, leave it on the counter, or place it next to our trunk, all while I leave the rest of my collection scattered randomly throughout the house. Coat closet? Check! Desk drawer? Check! Bedroom closet? Check? Under the desk? Check! And I don’t even have that many bags! It’s an issue. Back in the day, the guy I was dating had a super rad vintage coat hanger that I adopted as my own and used specifically for handbag storage and display. It was pretty perfect–everything was in one place, access was easy enough, and the display itself was interesting and fairly attractive. For me, the whole display aspect of purse storage is almost as important as functionality. I love a good fashion-meets-interior-design item! Love! I think my collection of clutches and crossbodies jammed into my top desk drawer is making my bags sad, guys! I mean, maybe my luggage-sized nylon totes are fine to being relegated to the top shelf of my closet, but my cute little bags? I think not! There are a ton of Life Hack-type pins suggesting that purses should be hung on shower hooks in your closet, for example, which seems like a fairly legitimate storage solution, but I’m not into that. I want to be able to SEE the hot pink Marc by Marc, the cognac Hayden Hartnett, or the brushed gold Botkier without trying, then select the right bag with ease. The above photograph, which I found on Pinterest, is apparently of Joy Bryant’s apartment/purse storage system. See how she made the whole thing kind of arty and cool? I LOVE that! Of course, I couldn’t display an entire handbag collection on slices of wood alone, but it’s a start, and a potential solution for my smaller pieces. I can’t help it – I need it to be pretty. So those in-the-closet purse hooks are out, as are bins, as are desk drawers. On my radar: Cubbies, exceptionally cute or creative hooks, and a shabby chic, perhaps parisian-inspired hat tree. This needs to happen. The bags must be seen! 😉

How do you store YOUR handbags? What do you think is the most functional, attractive, and simple way to display and stow your purses?

xo,

Liza, Editorial Director

Leave a Reply

