Want It Wednesday: Free People Railroad-Printed Overalls

In all honesty, this post should really be titled Got It Wednesday. After weeks of wavering, rather undercover coveting, I finally caved and bought these Free People shortalls.

I first laid eyes on them in a window display at Dry Goods, and believe me, it was not love at first sight. I’m a huge Free People fan–my favorite lines, in no particular order, are Free People, Rebecca Taylor, and Isabel Marant–but when I saw these cut-off overalls I was not so much a fan. Overalls are an incredibly polarizing trend, and even though they’re rooted in 90s sartorial goodness, I wasn’t initially willing to take a trip back in time. But then, something weird happened: I found myself actually warming up to overalls. And really, I don’t just mean warming up–considering the fact that I was down to spend over $100 on a pair, I’d say I’d somehow fallen head-over-heels with the look. I blame this heavily on festival fashion snaps (I’m looking at you, Glastonbury and Coachella), Free People’s website, and Urban Outfitters. Also, right around the time I started to embrace the overall trend, these babies went on sale. I was in.

Check out these cuties styling their FP shorteralls like little fashion pros!  They're totally multi-season appropriate. Images via Free People.

Check out these cuties styling their FP shorteralls like little fashion pros! They’re totally multi-season appropriate. Images via Free People.

I ordered my discounted pair on Piperlime  late last week (they’re set to arrive tomorrow!!) and since then I’ve been pouring over street style photos, how-to-wear articles, and any website whatsoever that features this particular pair of overalls in an attempt to prepare myself for their delivery. The trend itself may be questionable, but if they’re going to make overalls that appeal to me, I’m sure as hell going to get them. And wear them, obviously.

What do you think of overalls? Shortalls? Is this a trend you’ve tried? What are you wanting this Wednesday? I wanna know! Leave a note and share your thoughts!

xo,

Liza, Editorial Director

Leave a Reply

