Chanel Does Dallas

20130604-232550.jpg

Chanel’s creative director and premier fashion badass Karl Lagerfeld announced back in January that Dallas will play host to the Métiers d’Art show next year. The iconic, annual fashion show will launch Chanel’s Pre-Fall 2014 collection in tradition with traveling to unique destinations and pulling from the local culture.

20130604-232927.jpg

The last show was held at the ruins of a Scottish palace. In response, Lagerfeld said at the WWD Apparel & Retail CEO Summit in New York, “To do the opposite, next time, in a year, I will go to Dallas. You know why? First of all, I love Texas. I love Texans. There’s another reason. When Chanel reopened, the French press was beyond nasty. The only press that understood it immediately was the American press – so I think it’s a nice thing to go there.” (via Vogue)

I for one, am crazy excited that the brand is picking my hometown to host one of my favorite fashion events. What can we expect? Not sure, maybe cowboy-themed Chanel? Though I hate reinforcing that stereotype, I’ll let it slide because, well, it’s Chanel. While there’s no word as to the specific details and venue yet, you can bet everyone will be selling their souls to get a seat at the show. I’ll give up my first born for a seat (kiddingish)! Dallas has been steadily climbing the ranks as a fashion hub and to be on the radar of a man who steered Coco Chanel’s vision, is very promising for our classy little city.

Rida Islam, Fashion Editor

All images via Pinterest
One thought on “Chanel Does Dallas

Leave a Reply

