The Jam: The Notorious B.I.G. – Party & Bullsh*t (Ratatat Remix)

I’m not sure if this qualifies as an “unpopular opinion” (you can be the judge of that!) but I personally believe that remixes suck. Not 100% of the time, of course! But really, like 80% of the time at least. Though the remix pretty much qualifies as my anti-jam, I AM a fan of the mash-up. A HUGE fan. So that’s what I’m going to introduce you to in this week’s installment of The Jam: The mash-up. Even though, I suppose, this track IS technically a remix. Like it was featured on Ratatat Remixes Vol. 2.

It’s not a traditional remix though! The Ratatat “remix” of Party & Bullshit listens like a mash-up–that is, it features the musical stylings of both artists, thus keeping much of the original vibes of both songs intact. The result? Pure musical genius. Assuming you’re into either artist, anyway. P&B is actually a pretty ideal jam for me (duh) considering I appreciate both a bit of Ratatat and Biggie, but to each her own mash-up. You know you’ve found your perfect mash-up jam when you like the chopped up remix more than you like either of the original songs on their own. For me, that’s exactly what happens here:

Sooo I actually can’t remember what the original version of Party & Bullshit sounds like, but I guarantee that if I heard it I would think it sounded totally weird…unless it was this also mashed-up version. The same can’t-remember-what-it-sounds-like principle also applies to basically anything from Jay-Z’s “The Black Album”, since I associate almost all of those tracks exclusively with the Jay/Beatles mash-up, “The Grey Album“. So yeah, good stuff.

How great are mash-ups guys?! To quote one Ron Burgundy, don’t act like you’re not impressed! Leave your thoughts and/or favorite mash-ups below!

xo,

Liza, Editorial Director

Leave a Reply

