Mani Monday: 50 Shades of Greige

Strange as it may seem, “greige” is one of my all-time favorite shades. The perfect greige hue, however, can prove difficult to find. For me, the ultimate greige is not simply grey + beige as it’s name implies, but rather a combination of brown, grey, beige, and taupe. It’s a super soothing, flattering, and mysterious shade, best described as either a cool neutral or a warm grey. I love greige details in home furnishings, paint, clothing, and leather goods. Greige is my spirit animal. Or maybe spirit color? OMG if I could have a greige puppy my life would be complete.

Greige Galore! Image via Pinterest

Greige Galore! Image via Pinterest

Anyway! Since my greige obsession apparently knows no bounds, it was only a matter of time before I got into the world of greige nail lacquer. Over the past three or so years, I’ve tried every greige-y shade under the sun in pursuit of the perfect manicure. What can I say? I can’t get enough greige and I’ll forever love a neutral nail. While I’m constantly searching for pretty new neutrals, I’ve acquired quite the collection of grey/taupe/brown/sandy shades. And this morning, I couldn’t decide which one to use. What’s a girl to do? Use them all, apparently. I considered attempting a gradient manicure but seeing as how I’m not much of a nail artist (I pretty much just mastered the basics) I decided to opt for some multi-finger ombre action, inspired in part by this photo. My result? See for yourself!

A casual insta of my "50 Shades of Greige" mani. On my fingers: Thumb/ring finger: "Taupe" by Love & Beauty Index: "Sand Tropez" by Essie. Middle: "Chinchilly" by Essie. Pinky: "Mink Muffs" by Essie.

A casual insta of my “50 Shades of Greige” mani. On my fingers: Thumb/ring finger: “Taupe” by Love & Beauty Index: “Sand Tropez” by Essie. Middle: “Chinchilly” by Essie. Pinky: “Mink Muffs” by Essie.

Personally, I love it! And I’m not usually a fan of multi-polish manicures. This was a super easy, effortless way for me to make use of a few of my favorite neutral nail lacquers and embrace a trendy styled mani without making too much of a statement.

What do you think? Are you a greige fan? Would you rock an ombre manicure? Any nail trends you’re into at the moment? Leave us a comment and share your thoughts!

xo,

Liza, Editorial Director

Leave a Reply

