Best Dressed? I Guess…Five Intriguing Looks from the 2013 Met Gala

As we all know, the theme of this year’s Met Gala was punk. Why, I will never know. (Actually I do know: it’s because the Metropolitan Museum of Art’s Costume Institute’s spring exhibition, which the entire soiree highlights, is “PUNK: Chaos to Couture”, but still.) Known to some as “the Oscars of the fashion world”, the Met Gala gives all of our favorite celebrities plus Kim Kardashian the opportunity to dress up in next-level couture. Since it’s a fashion event, ensembles are typically more risk-taking, daring, and editorial, which is typically awesome. Add in a punk theme, however, and things get a bit…awkward. I mean, it’s kind of like watching the cool kids attempt to dress up as punks for Halloween, isn’t it? Theme aside, some of these outfits are worth a mention, and thus a blog post. Peep the looks I found most memorable below!

Mesmerizing

Nicole Richie, Topshop.

NicoleRichie

In short: Nicole Richie is everything. I mean, I might be a little bit biased because I’ve considered Nicole my #1 source of style inspiration since 2005, but whatever. She is amazing. This is exactly the interpretation of “punk” that I was hoping for: badass and a little weird, but still pretty. While I think that her hair and makeup most neatly fit the punk theme and draw the most attention, the overall look is stunning! Who looks THAT good with grey hair and a baggy dress? And those studded gold ear cuffs?! OMG. Maybe her husband Joel, a former Good Charlotte member/rocker, helped to style her. She is in TOPSHOP after all. So, so perfect.

Rooney Mara, Riccardo Tisci.

RooneyMara

Another white dress?! Yep. I’ve been thinking about what exactly it is that I love about Mara’s look and I think it actually comes down to the fact that it’s not black. I mean, black is so obvious! A real punk wouldn’t wear black and studs to a party where everyone else would be dressed the same way, right? They’d want to be provocative and different, I think, just like Rooney. I always seem to love Mara most when she’s in edgy, Dragon Tattoo-esque outfits, so this one was a winner for me.

See Also:

Nina Dobrev

Allison Williams

Chanel Iman 

Honorable Mention

Jessica Alba, Tory Burch.

JessicaAlba

I would say a conservative estimate of the percentage of time that I want to look like Jessica Alba is 85%. Red carpet looks like these are exactly why. Ms. Alba, who was styled by Brad Goreski, is wearing a custom laser-cut leather gown by Tory Burch. I love the cut outs, I love the studs, and most of all, I love that this is LEATHER, and that she threw a leather jacket over it. Totally punk apropos. Brad also styled Christina Ricci, who wore a plaid Vivienne Westwood number and looked rather fab herself.

See Also:

Kate Bosworth

Sienna Miller

Not so much…

Madonna, Givenchy Couture.

Madonna

I know Madonna is an icon, and that at one time punk looks were entirely her “thing”, but I cannot stand this outfit. It’s not just that this is totally age inappropriate, because this wouldn’t have looked good on anyone, it’s that it’s practically vulgar! Not cute, Madge. This is too costume-y and out of control for me. It actually reminds me a lot of Mugatu’s female accomplice/sidekick in Zoolander. Can’t you see it?! Yuck!

Kim Kardashian, Givenchy Couture.

KimK

I just…can’t. What’s punk about this all-over floral print gown? The gloves? The fact that it has a turtle neck? Perhaps it’s Kim’s pulled-back hair or berry lips. Whatever it is, I am not feeling it. Pretty sure outfits like this are why Kardashian was blacklisted from the Met Ball for the past few years. Just sayin’. Riccardo Tisci and Givenchy are lucky to have done Rooney Mara’s gown for redemption!

See Also:

Kristen Stewart

Kate Upton

Miranda Kerr

*All images via Tumblr. 

Who tops your best dressed list?! Share your favorites (and least faves) with us below!

xo,

Liza, Editorial Director

Leave a Reply

