Want It Wednesday: The Vintage Trunk

So this ‘Want it Wednesday’ is unique in that I’m focusing not on a piece of clothing, but on a particular piece of furniture! It works though, right? Personal style is all encompassing after all. And my mom loves to tell me that “dressing a room is like dressing yourself“, so there’s that.

Fab and functional! A trunk used as a table is cool enough, but the fact that this one happens to be vintage Louis Vuitton takes things to the next level.  Image Credit

Fab and functional! A trunk used as a table is cool enough, but the fact that this one happens to be vintage Louis Vuitton takes things to the next level. Image Credit

I love vintage trunks being used creatively as decor.  The first time I saw this done, a medium-sized trunk was being used as a coffee table. Super hipster I know, but also a rather inspired design choice in my personal opinion. See how cute it is?!

Trunk. Coffeetable. One in the same. Can I have all of this in my house now?! Image via Pinterest.

Trunk. Coffeetable. One in the same. Can I have all of this in my house now?! Image via Pinterest.

It was the second time I saw a travel trunk being used as a design piece, however, that I decided I had to somehow procure one of my own. Behold: the trunk used as a wardrobe! Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen use an oversize steamer trunk in the visual merchandising displays of their Olsenboye collection and I’m absolutely obsessed with the look. This is the perfect way not only to showcase a badass trunk, but also to highlight your favorite pieces of clothing. For a fashion lover like me, this is basically perfection. If only I could find a reasonably priced, reasonably gigantic trunk! If not, I’ll settle for a smaller model to use as a bedside table. Or a coffeetable. Or an end table. Or a TV stand. Or just as a freakin’ trunk!

The iconic Olsenboye trunk ♥ Image via Behance

The iconic Olsenboye trunk ♥ Image via Behance

If you’re interested in obtaining a vintage trunk of your own, here are the places where you can start looking!

  • Estate sales. Summer is primetime for estate and garage sales, and sifting through antiques is a super fun way to spend a weekend afternoon. Since these items tend to come from personal collections, they’re usually in pretty great shape and can even be one-of-a-kind. Gotta love a story to go along with
  • Vintage or antique stores. Obviously, when you’re looking for a vintage item you should check out a vintage store! The best part about shopping in-store for vintage furniture is that oftentimes the store owners have put effort into not only selecting awesome pieces, but also rehabing them. From new paint jobs to cool lining, trunks at vintage stores are typically going to be more “finished” and up-to-date (while maintaining that classic feel, of course) than pieces you could find elsewhere. Call before you go to check inventory.
  • Craigslist. In short, Craigslist is the PERFECT place to source vintage furniture on the cheap. Prices are incredibly reasonable (and there’s usually room to bargain) and there are many great finds to be had! If you can figure out transportation and delivery yourself and want the best possible deal, Craigslist is the way to go for sure. A caveat: while you may be able to find a plethora of trunks, there isn’t quality control like there is with buying from a store.

What do you think, guys? Are you into using vintage trunks for decor? For even more room styling inspiration, make sure to check out the Pinterest “vintage trunk” tag. So many pretty things and good ideas over there!

xo,

Liza, Editorial Director

4 thoughts on “Want It Wednesday: The Vintage Trunk

  1. I saw the same trunk at JC Penny with the Olsenboyz clothes displayed. I am in love with that trunk and even asked the store manager if I could buy it. They couldn’t sell it because it was not theirs. I have been looking everyone for one like it. I am thinking of writing to the Olsen’s to see if I can buy directly from them.

  2. The Olsenboye trunk is perfection! That’s SO upsetting about JcP though!! Pleaseee let me know if you end up contacting the Olsens, or anyone who can give you buying information, because I want that exact trunk too, haha! Thanks for reading, Rosie!

Leave a Reply

