Hot Or Not: Ear Cuffs

I first discovered the ear cuff phenomenon via Pinterest a few months back. Of course, you know how fashion on Pinterest can be (crazy/random/over-the-top/just not my style) so I didn’t give the unique jewelry a second thought. A few weeks later, however, they popped up in the personally curated selection of my Etsy homepage. Then, I saw a super ornate ear cuff being sold at Urban Outfitters. All of this leads me to believe that ear cuffs are officially a “thing”.

This rhinestone ear piece is actually made from recycled vintage jewelry! Get the DIY tutorial at Transient Expression.

This rhinestone ear piece is actually made from recycled vintage jewelry! Get the DIY tutorial at Transient Expression.

Ear cuffs and wraps are supposed to simulate the look of pierced cartilage. A wrap can encapsulate the entire ear while a cuff is a more simple accent–though they often connect to an earlobe piercing via chain. Of course, the beauty in the ear cuff trend is that you don’t actually have to get a piercing–the cuff or wrap simply slides around your ear.

While the look is meant to make a statement and add a little edge, individual pieces vary widely in their boldness–from demure to daring or tough to twee. Check out our gallery below for some style inspiration!

Trending: Ear Cuffs

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

While I like the fact that ear cuffs add an unexpected touch of glamour and I loveee the way the over-the-top pieces look on models, I’m not sure if this is a trend I’ll be adopting anytime soon! If you’re feeling the look, you can buy ear cuffs from Etsy, Asos, Urban Outfitters, and even Charlotte Russe! So, would you wear one?! Weigh in! Are ear cuffs hot or not?

xo

Liza, Editorial Director

2 thoughts on “Hot Or Not: Ear Cuffs

  1. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a
    really well written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and return to
    read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post.
    I’ll definitely comeback.

Leave a Reply

