Want It Wednesday: Classic Canvas Sneakers

Classic. Image Credit

Classic. Image Credit

I’ll be the first to admit that I am not a shoe girl. While I may casually lust over a pair of spiked Louboutins, the probability of my actually wearing anything over a three inch heel (especially if it’s not a wedge) is slim to none. This being said, I can totally appreciate a hot shoe from afar and do have an ever-expanding collection of flats to fit my needs…I just don’t really care. Shoes just don’t quicken my heart rate like a fabulous dress or pair of jeans do!

Since you’re now aware of my general indifference towards footwear, you can probably see why this post is kiiind of a big deal: It takes a lot to get me excited about shoes. But I really want canvas sneakers. And I can’t explain it! I cannot STAND athletic shoes being worn outside of the gym. Ew ew ew. Nothing ruins a cute outfit on either sex like the addition of a tennis shoe. It’s just…wrong. Though I’ve never owned a pair myself, I can tolerate Converse from time to time, but in most cases, I’d rather see a look finished with flats, sandals, even flip flops than with sporty shoes. So why do I like Keds?! I’ll try to break it down for all of us–myself included.

  • They’re effortless. Canvas sneakers epitomize basic: They’re a solid color with white laces. You don’t have to think much when you put them on. They don’t draw a ton of attention and they don’t pull focus from your look. They’re simple, polished, and sharp. Another perk: the style is so basic, they’re also totally open to fun customization like DIY dye jobs or studs.
  • They’re inexpensive. Classic Champion Canvas Keds retail at only $40, but you can easily get the same look for much less. Urban Outfitters, for example, has canvas sneakers for $18 or 2 for $30,  Payless has them for $15, and every thrift store I’ve ever encountered has them for under $5. Gotta love a bargain!
  • They’re flat. Perfect for all of my daytime adventures running around town and random shopping trips. Hello comfort and endless wearability!
  • They’re classic. My mom wore Keds, you guys. Your mom probably did too. And they remind me of Dirty Dancing. This is a style that has withstood the test of time, a fact which I can totally appreciate. Also, like the oxford, these neutral lace-ups are androgynous and are worn equally well by both genders.
  • They’re everywhere. Not only can you buy these puppies at virtually every fast fashion retailer (Forever, H&M, even Target!) I’m also seeing the style around everywhere these days. What can I say? The look is growing on me!

Are you a fan of these low-key kicks? How do you style them? What’s on your Wednesday wish list? Leave a comment and let us know!

xo,

Liza, Editorial Director

2 thoughts on “Want It Wednesday: Classic Canvas Sneakers

Leave a Reply

