Want It Wednesday: The Perfect Denim Cut-Offs

Shorts. Studs. Summer. Image Credit

Shorts. Studs. Summer. Image Credit

Currently craving: Summer. Number one on my wardrobe wish list: The perfect pair of denim cut-offs. What constitutes the perfect pair of cut-offs, you ask? Here is my criteria!

This may very well be my ideal summer outfit: perfect cut-offs, a baggy tank, and a kimono. Effortless! Image via Pinterest.

This may very well be my ideal summer outfit: perfect cut-offs, a baggy tank, and a kimono. Effortless! Image via Pinterest.

1. High waist. (Or alternatively, a low waist.) …Because there is nothing I detest more than a mid-rise jean short. Most of my past cut-offs have been of the low-rise variety, and this year I think I’m ready to take things to a higher level. The hottest cut-offs on my radar right now have a high waist and an even higher hemline–lots of leg and booty grazing styles have been popping up at recent music festivals, and that’s a look I’d be interested in emulating.

2. Distressing. While I like my skinny jeans ink-dark and pristine, as far as shorts are concerned, I want a light wash and a moderate amount of distressing. A few holes here or there are fair game, as is some fringe. I don’t want anything too crazy, but I DO like for my shorts to have a little personality.

3. The perfect leg. They can’t be too short, too long, or too tight. I prefer shorts that are uncuffed over cuffed, with hemlines that are raw versus finished. Bonus: I love details like a high-low, dolphin-esque hemline. Gives it a little something extra and is always super flattering.

4. Makes me look like a fox. Self explanatory, really.

The Top Contenders

Etsy Monogrammed High Waisted Denim ShortyShorts

I am completely enamored with these customized monogram shorts from Etsy! Perfect distressing, high waist, and fringey bottoms. The monogrammed pocket, however, gives them a feminine touch and keeps the shorts from looking especially grungy. Love. The only issue is that they don’t currently have shorts in my size. Boo.

One Teaspoon Bonitas

One Teaspoon 'Bonita' Shorts via Swell.

One Teaspoon ‘Bonita’ Shorts via Swell. Don’t mind that random strip of fabric–she’s wearing a monokini.

These ultra-distressed cut-offs from One Teaspoon are everything. They’re super short, but not cut like hot pants–a rarity in the jean shorts world. Plus they have mega fringe and the whole dolphin-hem thing going on. I’m not sure I understand how they can be so perfectly baggy on the bottom with such a fitted waist, but with shorts that look that good I don’t think I care. Drawback: The price. $78+ shipping for shorts is a little steep!

Sigh.

Siiigh. One day I’ll be as cool as these girls. Image Credit

I don’t know guys…I think I have to cave and buy some of these. There are a myriad of Etsy listings for these “hipster shorts” though, so they have to be fairly easy to DIY, right? I am terrible, horrible, no good very bad at do-it-yourself projects, but this is one I just may attempt since the cost of supplies is low and the style payoff is high. Of course, if you want to make me a pair of shorts I’ll totally love you forever! Otherwise I’ll probably just buy them, as stated previously.

What do you want this Wednesday? Do you have a denim short hookup? Let a chica know! Leave a comment!

xo,

Liza, Editorial Director

2 thoughts on “Want It Wednesday: The Perfect Denim Cut-Offs

  1. Pingback: Listed: My Top 10 Summer Style Essentials | Mieux & Mieux

Leave a Reply

