The Jam: ‘Don’t Worry, We’ll Be Watching You’ by Gotye

Do you know who Wouter De Backer is? GOTYE! Is the only Gotye song you know “Somebody That I Used to Know?” No longer! My jam selection for this week is Don’t Worry, We’ll Be Watching You from Gotye’s Making Mirrors album, which I discovered via the Kimbra station on Pandora. If I could sum this song up in a word, I would be torn between choosing “creepy” and “alluring“. Trust me…Once you listen, you’ll know exactly what I mean.

Though it’s rather unsettling and dark, I can’t get over the sick tone and beats in this song…It’s almost hypnotic! The video just adds to the creepy vibe, no? I was pretty sure that he couldn’t top STIUTK, but apparently Gotye is a music video-making mastermind. Perhaps it has something to do with his wolf eyes. Whatever it is, “Don’t Worry, We’ll Be Watching You” makes me think of strange encounters, times, and people…All things that I should probably refrain from discussing on this blog. Addicted to this song, though.

xo,

Liza, Editorial Director

Leave a Reply

