Punk Laurent


904480_10151547704523850_855332996_o
As if we haven’t seen enough of creative director Hedi Slimane‘s antics for the revamped Saint Laurent Paris brand (formerly YSL), the new campaign featuring grunge icons like Marilyn Manson and Courtney Love will now feature French electro gods Daft Punk. Slimane and Daft Punk began their rendezvous last October for a soundtrack for the Saint Laurent fashion show, and I guess Slimane was smitten enough to sign them (“them” being Daft Punk duo Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo and Thomas Bangalter) up for the editorial as well. The Robots duo is fitted in a Saint Laurent glitter blazer called “Le Smoking“, which looks pretty freaking sick, if I say so myself.

I’ll be frank. I get that the brand is trying to go a new direction, and as an artist, I completely understand the need to do something different. However, I’m starting to get tired of just how far away from the essence of YSL we are getting. Monsieur Slimane is starting to sound like a pompous, dominating you-know-what just prancing in and changing up everything I have ever known (I exaggerate, he might be a really nice person), but the changes are pretty severe.

I recently went to the new Saint Laurent store that opened up at Highland Park Village in Dallas, reluctant to see just how much has changed. While the format is very much a scene from “The Matrix”, I saw some familiar stuff. Nothing had YSL on it, but I saw the “Y” bags and things, so it pacified me…for the time being. Maybe I’m just having adjustment issues, but anyone else think it’s getting too much? Let us know your thoughts!

Rida Islam, Fashion Editor

Leave a Reply

